Zavod Sploh


A cycle of contemporary composed music

Zvokotok focuses on contemporary composed music. It is defined by the research of compositional procedures and often linked to music technology. It encourages and merges unique sound languages and performative innovativeness and moves contemporary compositions into new spatial and concert forms.
Zvokotok connects established institutional spaces of artistic activity with premises of the dynamic action of NGOs. It implements and maintains unburdened space of dialogue and overcome the artificial distinction between areas and venues of artistic activity.

The program in 2022 was conceived by Steven Loy.

The series entitled Chiaroscuro presents five concerts on the theme of light, both literally and metaphorically: light as a medium and mediator of story and emotion, light as knowledge, light as intuition, light as a literal and spiritual guide, light as optimism ...

The performers are members of the ensemble Neofonía (composed of local musicians with a passion for new music) and guest artist Małgorzata Walentynowicz, a pianist specializing in new music who lives / works in Gdańsk and Cologne.

The program was conceived by:
2019 - Primož Trdan
2020 - Mauricio Valdés San Emeterio
2021 - Luka T. Zagoričnik
Zvokotok events list


Zvokotok: Amacher, Ferreira, Schimana / City of Women

Zvokotok: 12. 10. 20.00–23.00 Cankarjev dom, Štihova dvorana
Maryanne Amacher, Beatriz Ferreyra, Elisabeth Schimana

Interpretations of electroacoustic music from the past and the present

Maryanne Amacher: Remainder [excerpt] (14′55′′)
Maryanne Amacher’s work anticipated many concerns and interests of the 21st century sound art. Her electroacoustic composition Remainder (1976) was commissioned for the Merce Cunningham Dance Company piece Torse and later for the Charles Atlas film of the same name. We will listen to an excerpt from the composition.

Beatriz Ferreyra: Un fil invisible (18′00′′)
The composition Un fil invisible (2009) by the Argentinian composer of electroacoustic music Beatriz Ferreyra is dedicated to the French composer Christine Groult. This piece was inspired by various stages of medieval alchemy. The alchemical process is one of transformation, whose actual subject is the alchemist himself. Here, the process is inextricably tangled with the transformation of sounds and the very structure of the piece. 

Elisabeth Schimana: Into the Sun, multi-channel piece (approx. 30′00′′)
Since 1960, we have known that the sun is oscillating. Helioseismology is the study of oscillation waves through the sun and allows astrophysicists to develop extremely detailed profiles of the interior conditions of the sun. The inspiration for the artistic work is the idea that the sun is a huge resonating body for sound waves traveling to the interior of the sun and being reflected, as well as the awareness of taking a look into the past by observing the processes on and in the sun – a paradox working with the medium of sound, which can only be experienced in the present. A new work commissioned by Zavod Sploh (Mauricio Valdes San Emeterio).

Before the concert, at 18.30, Lona Gaikis is going to present the book Hidden Alliances – versteckt verbunden in Lili Novy Glass Hall.

Follow us
and stay informed